BBQs: Propane, Natural Gas or Charcoal?

I'm in the market for a new BBQ. We're just a family of 3 (one kid) so I don't need some huge monstrosity. My budget is <$500. The old one was propane, but I'll look into other types also.

Which type/brand do you guys prefer? I've never used charcoal before.

Is it a pain in the ass to work with?

How much does it cost to install a gas line for Natural Gas?

Any advice/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• I've always just had propane but am also in the market for a new BBQ (btw they are super cheap down here) and was considering (haven't really researched anything yet) an old-style charcoal grill. My gf said they are a pain in the ass to clean, etc. but I have no clue.

Honestly, propane has never given me a problem...I just like to change things up once in a while.

If I had your budget of >$500, I'd prolly go for this:

World's Most Expensive Barbeque Grill is 24 carat Gold | BBQ and Bourbon : BBQ and Bourbon

Aren't typos fun?

Some cool looking shit here:

http://bbq.about.com/od/charcoalgrills/tp/aatp062604a.htm

You just got me thinking about this...found this that I just started reading:

http://voices.yahoo.com/charcoal-vs-propane-which-grill-best-379429.html

http://voices.yahoo.com/advantages-charcoal-grill-over-gas-grill-333192.html?cat=6

Guess I'll get propane again, charcoal sounds like a bit of a pain in the ass (heating time, clean-up).

Now checking this (looks like I'll go buy a BBQ today):

http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/gas-grills.htm
  • Charcoal is a pain in the ass. Takes too long to get to the 'white coal' state which is great for cooking, then if you're a fire nit like me you don't like to just let it sit there hot when you're done with it.

Gas is awesome if you're house is already set up for it. Otherwise you have to get a gas tech in to fit the pipe outside where you want it. It's really nice not having to worry about whether your tank is going to last..... just one more time.