Scotch

13»

Comments

• I'm going to pick up a bottle of Te Bheag tonight and give it a try.

If you haven't done this yet.....do this. Very very good. The flavours are so balanced and full. My girlfriend even thought it was incredible and she hasn't really been into scotch yet. This seems to be changing now. For the money you can't beat it.
  • Im smashed off blue and black label...

Johnny walker FTMFW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Anyone tried the laphroaig quarter cask? Just bought a bottle of it and have not opened it yet.

Will give a review. Not much of one as I'm not very good with describing the experience (see my Te Bhaeg comments above :-)

Cheers,
  • iNano78 wrote: »

While it's more expensive than the 10-year used to be, the Laphroaig "Quarter Cask" is still very nice for $63.95. Although you have to be careful; like wine, I've found that it goes bad (loses some smoky flavours and gets somewhat bitter) if it gets too much oxygen, so be sure to keep it well corked... and you shouldn't plan to savour it over year or more; probably best to finish it within a few months of opening. If you don't believe me, pour a dram in the evening, have half, then try it again in the morning. Blah!!

Good advice, thanks,
  • Anyone tried Caol Ila?

The 8 year old was $140 which shocked me. is it that good?
  • SuitedPair wrote: »
    Anyone tried Caol Ila?

The 8 year old was $140 which shocked me. is it that good?

Wow that's very expensive for an 8 year old!!!!

I didn't know Caol Ila made an 8 year old.. seems kinda young. Are you sure you don't mean 18 year old.

I've tried the 12 year old..

It's an Islay but not as strong as Lagavulin.

I think there is a lot of it in Johnny Walker.
  • Wow that's very expensive for an 8 year old!!!!

I didn't know Caol Ila made an 8 year old.. seems kinda young. Are you sure you don't mean 18 year old.

I've tried the 12 year old..

It's an Islay but not as strong as Lagavulin.