Microsoft Windows 8 tablet announced...

Now, could this significantly change the tablet world...? Playing with Windows 8 for the last couple of weeks and this could be interesting...

Microsoft unveils Surface tablet

Overall impression of Windows 8 is mixed from my perspective... Very smooth operating system, very good performance on moderate hardware.. Very different "look" from 7 however... Takes some getting used to..

Likely early to mid October release to market..

Comments

• I'm a total newb to this portable world. I've never even owned a laptop.

How is a tablet different from an Ipad? Just different OS? On a recent trip to BC, my friend had an Ipad and I thought it was pretty cool. Not sure (haven't done any research) in terms of compatibility with my PC based world though.
  • queue Ned in

• Amazed really that the playbook has not been canceled yet.
  • moose wrote: »
    Amazed really that the playbook has not been canceled yet.

They've already axed the 16 GB Playbook.

The official party line is RIM "is still committed to the tablet market". We'll see. If BB10 doesn't start earning RIM back market share (I personally think it's too late and think someone will gooble them up for their enterprise security patents), they're sunk in the water. They sat on their heels for way too long and thought that BBM and their enterprise business would keep them afloat. In doing so, they denied the consumer base what they wanted- sexy phones. They held onto physical keyboards too long, released a shitty touch interface shoehorned over their already aging OS and got blindsided by Apple and iPhone. Now they're playing catch up in a market they once dominated...
  • I can't believe the MS tablet has a trackpad! Who the F wants a trackpad on a touchscreen device?!?

Let's see if they can pull this off. I actually have use for a good Windows based tablet for work.
  • holychow wrote: »