Newb working on getting started - help?

Hi, I'm fairly new to poker. I'm looking for some advice on how to work on my bankroll.
What table limits are recommended with a $100 starting bankroll.
Should I be playing at 6 handed or 10 handed tables. PL or NL?

I seem to be straddling the break even point since I started.

Comments

• First of all, start tracking your performance immediately. You may THINK you're straddeling break even, but you may soon realize you aren't. It's incredibly easy to think you're doing better than you actually are, and keeping track is necessary to help keep you honest with yourself.

Secondly, a hundred is not a huge bankroll. I would most likely stick to the micro low limit games, nothing bigger than 0.25/0.50 to start, and that might be even abit high. Enter a bunch of freerolls as well that will pay off in cash in your account. Low limit SnG's are probably okay too ($1-$5 buyins max).

Lastly, READ!! Read everything you get your hands on. And then play the game. It's amazing how a little bit of education can turn your game around quickly.

All the best. And welcome to the forum. Also, welcome to this drug we call POKER!!! :D
  • What table limits are recommended with a $100 starting bankroll.

This question is difficult to answer. You would first need to define exactly what you mean by the term "starting bankroll". To be specific, what is your plan if you happen to lose the entire $100? Start again with another $100? Repeat this $100 re-deposit once before giving up? Ten times? Once per month? Deposit another $1,000 instead? Quit playing poker for real money forever?

(Technically, only the last option above would truly make the $100 a poker bankroll.)

For example, someone who makes a first-time deposit into a poker site for $100, but has $10,000 set aside for poker in total, can easily go ahead and play a $100 MTT. Someone whose lifetime poker bankroll is $100 would be foolish to do the same.