Bad Beats Rule!!

The truth is....I love em.

I have been playing online now for just under 3 months. Almost exclusively sit n go's. Tried the NL cash games and they have been profitable but I am a bit freak so I find the tourneys more satisfying. They begin then they end. Nice and neat!

My only deposit has been $25 in Poker Stars and the $100 Free Bankroll at Party. I cashed $100 out of Party and opened an account at Poker Room so I could chase down the Free NJ Custom Chips through Poker Source. I now have north of $800 spread across the 3 accounts. I am pleased with my progress.

I have tracked every tourney and cash game since I started. Have read as much as possible about the game in the last 3 months and I have been systematic about implementing new strategy to my game.

2 weeks ago I moved up to $10 Sit n gos. Over the next 21 tourneys I was:

ITM 15 times with 8 Wins

My ROI was 229%
ITM 71%
Win 38%

In the last 10 tourneys I have cashed twice a second and a third. Not quite as spectacular. But my point lies here somewhere...oh yeah here it is...

For 10 tourneys I have been thumped mercilessly by bad beats in the defining moments in every tourney.

Last night I had built my stack to $8500 with 5 players remaining in a 10 man tourney. AVG stack was $3000. With in 3 laps of the button I had my money in 3 times vs an All-In with the best hand and got sucked out on. 2 were dominated: My AJ vs A4 and my 99 vs. 44. After being busted down to $1100 in chips and an M between 3 and 4 play folds to me with AJs so I push and BB calls with QQ. Not a bad play but definitely bad timing.

Anyone who plays enough has these stories. But do you stick to it? Tell everyone you know? Rant about it in the chat window until everyone puts you on ignore? Start to gamble every coin flip in sight because you have no controll any way? I guarantee you that you have sucked out on someone huge in the recent past and have forgotten about it before the next hand is dealt.