CHASING OR NOT ?

Hi, I am new to the game, being playing about 6 months. Lastnight I am playing 5-10 limit game. I have 8d 10d....the flop comes 2 diamonds. I now have a flush draw. The turn is not a diamond. The next bet is 10 dollars and I call. I hit my diamond. I bet and win the hand. The person who I beat had high pair. He then lectures me for half an hour, saying I should not have called him. He says I am a chaser and if i play this way all the time I will lose money. Is he correct? Thank you, I hope someone will respond.

Comments

• Yeah you played the hand right. His bet isn't big enough to give you the wrong odds to chase. You have 9 diamonds to win out of 46 unseen cards, so you win about 1 time in 5. Assuming there is at least $40 in the pot when you call you played the hand correctly.
  • He's likely leaving out the fact he cold called 4 bets preflop... :)
  • hmmm ....... i think WAYNE that u just have to remember ........ the person making this comment played the same hand ......... the same way a few hours later .......... no matter what u do or say he is right only when he makes the call .............. GREAT 2 nd place finish tonight .......... welcome to my table of winners :D
  • That's what is so frustrating about limit, most of the time you'll have odds to call and it's tough to bet anyone off a draw....that said you played it perfectly fine.
  • awwww NASTYHORN......thanks so much.....it means A LOT comming from you....I am now foresure HOOKED on texas....Maybe winning 2 grand lastnight was the worst thing for me.....My wife will never get me to quit now.......hmmm...wife or poker....?????