Golf or Poker

Got out golfing for my first time of the season last night - and starting thinking - how many weeknight and weekend poker games can I really play now that the weather is nice?

I am new to KW and the KW poker scene in the sense that I have never been around this area to enjoy the beauty that is summer.

Do the games keep going strong - I would imagine many of our student friends are gone and the weather must make it difficult to play indoors.

Also, would anybody be interested in some sort of Golf/Poker day - the details would clearly have to be sorted out.

Any comments regarding the summer poker scene and any one else who is eager to spend some time enjoying outdoors as intended (Beer in hand).

Comments

• that's not a bad idea. I was thinking something similar.

Golf/poker tourney.

Most golf clubs only require a group of 20 people to make a tournament up.
  • Play a hand each hole and the winner gets to remove one club from everyone else's bag (except maybe the putter). Add a couple $ a stroke and now you have a game!
  • And a lot of clubs would let us stick around and play some cards - so long as we keep buying their beer.
  • Tom, you read my mind!!!!

I've been thinking about golf ALL WEEK. My itch to play is so bad, I need calamine lotion.

If you are looking for someone play with, let me know. I can show you around the courses in the KW area. IMO, Beaverdale and Doon Vally are great, for the price. Maryhill and Rockway are nice and short, but are ALWAYS busy. I haven't played RIM Park yet, but I here it's pretty sweet, and a tad out of my price range.

JohnnieH
  • I played Beaverdale last night.

My bud - who happens to be in town doing his placement for teachers college and wants to check out the poker scene - and I played 1/2 price at Beaverdale for $25 we headed out on the course with 18 holes and 3 cans of Beer (the legal way).

The course is not the best - but not bad for the first time out - and the price was great.