River Room Rumour?

Post on 2+2 about about River Room being shut down... Link

Any truth or is this just BS...??

Comments

• yeah, 2months ago, thanks for the update
  • Cops knock on the door and told them to shut down. They put a post here on the forum to sell there contact list and lease.
  • GTA Poker wrote:
    yeah, 2months ago, thanks for the update
    OK... thanks... I must of missed that...
  • I heard that they got an anonymous email from someone in the Kitchener area that was trying to shut down their place.....

Oh wait, that was a rumour about me....and about a different place.....and completely false....

I wonder why the big crack down on all of these rooms of late? I'm not one to be paranoid, especially after having the cops at my house last year re:poker. I'm just wondering how many members on here are cops, or if they are just lurking as guests daily. I know if I was a cop I would think it was a joke if I was going around busting poker rooms.....That is, if they were just playing poker.

stp
  • stpboy wrote:
    I know if I was a cop I would think it was a joke if I was going around busting poker rooms.....That is, if they were just playing poker.

It's more likely because of the serving of booze without a license than it is about playing poker.
  • I played at the river room and not once was alcohol ever served. But apparently there is lots of interest from the law enforcement about whose playing poker where as I have most recently found out. I think it has more to do with the Al Capone aspect than anything. (Tax man isn't getting his cut)
  • Didn't mean it to sound like the River Room was serving...I've never been, so I wouldn't have a clue. But I have overheard from an official in law enforcement that the busts are more in line with liquor infringements moreso than Big Brother wanting his cut. Still, I wouldn't put it past the provincial Liberals to yet again screw us over.