Home Game Signup Module

I've thought about this for a few months, but based on WaterLooser's comments (http://www.pokerforum.ca/forum/index.php?topic=6421.msg53639#msg53639), I thought I'd start a bit of a discussion. I think it would be great if we could have a special topic which would keep track of registrations. I think it could be just about as simple as the voting mechanism currently in place, although there would obviously need to be a bit of thought put into it's design.

I'm curious what limitations the forum has in expanding, if they don't mind sharing. Specifically, is it possible to write modules that could be incorporated into the site, and what languages are available on the server to do that? The forum seems to be done in php, and I'm a Java programmer, so I'm not sure how much I could help. I know there are quite a few guys on the forum with some computer skills, so I'm also curious who is interested and has time to help improve the forum, if that is possible/desired/allowed.

Just a thought.

Comments

• To further the discussion, I am not sure if this is something that would/should/needs to be part of the forum. This sounds like a separate application that needs to live outside of the forum. This would allow for the most flexibility and control. Should probably search the web, something like this might already exist - evite?

It's basically evite, but for Rob's specific problem the "sign me up" would have to be backed by more logic that could limit the total number of accepts and also include the "consecutive game streak" as a condition of success. It sounds like an interesting problem for sure.
  • To further the discussion, I am not sure if this is something that would/should/needs to be part of the forum.  This sounds like a separate application that needs to live outside of the forum. This would allow for the most flexibility and control.  Should probably search the web, something like this might already exist - evite?