Tournaments - What am I doing wrong?

Hi everyone,

I have been playing Poker on a regular basis for about 5 years, I joined the online movement a few years ago, and have logged several hundred hours playing online in Limit and No limit games. I normally play 3-6 or 5-10 limit, or $200 buy-in 1-2 No limit, I have done quite well on the internet over the last 12 months, I cashed out several times, and according to my log book, am currently up $5200 on the year.

Having said all that, I have a real hard time making the money in tournaments. I do fine in 10 player sit and go's, but every time I enter an online tournament with 1000+ players, I can't ever seem to get into the top 100. I find I am always in the same situation, I end up having to put my chips in on average hands because the blinds are escalating really fast and I am getting widdled down with average to crappy cards in hand. I am a fairly tight player with periods of aggressive play, this style works well at the cash tables where the blinds are always the same and I get to choose my hands. But in tournaments, I seem to get killed with this play style. I know many of you on here are quite good at tournaments, and often make the money, I guess I am looking for tips on how to survive the longer tournaments. I don't like to push all in, I usually prefer to call an all in.. maybe that is my problem?

I have only played around 12 large online tournaments, all of them with 1600+ players, best I have finished was 110th, which was basically my money back with a few extra bucks as a reward for almost being good :)

Is there a book that most online tournament players say is a "must read"?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Comments

• I am getting widdled down

I'd get that checked out...

Honestly, 10-12 tournaments isn't a big enough sample size to determine whether you're a winning tournament player or not. Large fields are difficult to win in. That said...

I highlight this statement: