Poker "Helper" program tells

Hi All:

I am fairly new to online play (been playing real-world for 5 years).

With all these helper programs out there (Calculatem, holdem spy, etc), I was wondering if there any one knows if there is a way that I can as a player tell if someone is using one of these programs. I am very leary of putting my money on the line only to have it taken by some yahoo who wouldn't know a good had if it slapped him in the face.

Are there any sites where they can prevent the use of these programs???

Thx

Hobbes

Comments

• great topic....i'd like to know more about this too....some internet tool to calculate your odds or something.

:c: :d: :rage: :h:
  • There's a page on PokerStars that talks about banned programs.

Check out: http://www.pokerstars.com/prohibited_programs.html
  • On the pokerstars site they mention scanning a players computer for the prohibited programs.

Any tech savvy players here that can explain how they are going to do this? I don't use the programs but am weary about big brother!
  • I would assume they are looking for specific registry settings. It does kinda suck. When you run someone's program it can pretty much do whatever it wants. It can also send info over the internet to anyone it wants. There's a fair bit of trust involved...
  • pkrfce9 wrote:
    I would assume they are looking for specific registry settings. It does kinda suck. When you run someone's program it can pretty much do whatever it wants. It can also send info over the internet to anyone it wants. There's a fair bit of trust involved...

Well the trust is you download their software and install it, you use your credit card (or another form or payment) and forward them money, and then you can request a cash out and hope they send it to you........

So them scanning my computer for illegal programs is the least of my worries ;)