Limit beginner - missing the flop

Looking for some strategy tips
I am new to poker in general, but very new to playing limit ring games.
I currently play $.5 - $1 - which is within my bankroll.

Here is a typical hand where I am not 100% sure on what to do after the flop:
I have A :d: K :d: in MP
2 limpers ahead of me, I raise and button, blinds and previous limpers call.  I would call the table loose, passive for the most part
Flop is:
7 :d: j :h: 4 :s:
First player bets, second player calls I ?
Typically because I view the table as passive I raise, and in my mind I am trying to force the players behind me to fold - not sure if this is solid reasoning
I raise, button and small blind fold, BB calls original bettor calls and 2 player folds
So I have eliminated a few players with my raise but really I only have a backdoor flush draw and overcards right now
Turn:2 :c:
EP player checks, I ??
Most likely I would bet - again trying to bully and represent a big hand
BB raises and EP calls - I ??
In my mind I am done here, now I have an overcard draw only - in this game BB could have J3, 74 suited etc
I fold
River K :c:
EP checks, BB bets EP calls:
Showdown EP shows J6 for a pair of Jacks, BB shows JQ for a pair of Jacks higher kicker
So did I play this wrong, e.g. pot odds, my betting patterns etc.

Any comments would be appreciated
Thanks
Scots

Comments

• I think the fold was good as when you raised after the bet/call in front of you on the flop and had 2 callers it was a sign that at least on of the two caught something. The only reason for you to call would be to chase and in a worse case scenario what if one of the players was sitting on KJ (which with the hands they had is quite possible) and the river would have cost you more money.