Anyone know about fence prices ?

My 80 year old parents need a small fence job done . 40 linear feet of 6 ft wood fence and 4x4 posts .... They are getting quoted $ 2000 all in. This seems high for such a small section of fence.

Anyone know a guy in the GTA ?

Comments

• My 80 year old parents need a small fence job done . 40 linear feet of 6 ft wood fence and 4x4 posts .... They are getting quoted $ 2000 all in. This seems high for such a small section of fence.

Anyone know a guy in the GTA ?

Sent out a bunch of request

Fence | Fence, Stair, Siding, and Deck Building Services in City of Toronto | Kijiji Classifieds
  • I know these guys are pretty highly thought of in Milton but not sure if they would go wherever your parents are.. I have no personal experience with them however..

:: Contact Us ::
  • I'll come help you on the weekend. Rent a gas auger. Sounds like 5 or 6 posts. A few bags of concrete. A handful of 2x4s and some 1x6s. Screws not nails. I'm sure you have a HD nearby. I'll wear my sexy carpenter outfit. Shouldn't be more than $15/ft but I haven't priced lumber recently. Posts are the hardest part. Still, EZ game.

Sent from my SM-N910W8 using Tapatalk
  • Thanks for the offer. very nice of you.

I may get Mr post hole to do the posts and just do the boards with the neighbors kid.

probably the best option.
  • Oh ya that is a great option too. Because that is the hardest part and most critical. Just don't let the posts sit there in the ground without at least the fence structure in place. I guess there's a chance the posts could twist or warp. So get the 2x4s up within a day or two.

The fence boards are nice relaxing work you can do at your own pace. Let me know if you need help. I've built a few over the years.

I wonder what they charge to put in a post now? Probably depends on access and soil type. If it's more than $50 plus lumber, I should get in the business!