Animal Planet DISGUSTING Article on Canine Parvo Virus

Please see this article -- I encourage anyone that cares at all about animals to leave a comment on the page of this article stating the absurdity and disgusting nature of this article. If you have any questions about this disease then let me know:

How to Treat Parvo at Home: Animal Planet

Aaron McDonald, a former colleague of mine in California, and a great emergency veterinarian found this story. All of my veterinary (and non-veterinary) friends, please share this terrible misinformation on your timelines with your comments. I have taken the liberty of copying his comments below.

Copied from Aaron McDonald, DVM: This is a completely irresponsible article! I would expect more from an organization that claims to support animals and have their well being in mind. I am an ER veterinarian and treat Parvo virus daily.

Here is what this article should have said:

The only way to treat this terrible virus is under the guidance of a competent veterinarian. Hospitalization (inpatient treatment) until clinical signs, specifically vomiting and anorexia, have resolved is always best. Inpatient treatment can take several days and does have significant cost associated with it.

At home treatment (outpatient) can be attempted for those that can not afford hospitalization. However, daily follow-up with a veterinarian is needed until clinical signs have resolved. These follow-ups will allow for injections of antibiotics (preferably not cefazolin....I don't know where they got that information), antiemetics (anti-vomiting medication), and fluids (either subcutaneous/under the skin or intravenous.)