Another Table Poll

do you own a table? if you do, did you build it or buy it?

Comments

• Retail table are just too expensive but there's so nice... Its more fun to build a table then show it off at the next home game, get a few wows, especially when you put a rail on it...
  • Built mine! Fun project and probably the coolest physical thing I've built.

poker23.jpg
  • what's the coolest mental thing you've ever built?
    :lol:
  • Well I'm a programmer, so I've built many non-physical "things" :D
  • djw,

about how long did it take you to build your table, from start to finish? And the corollary: if you HAD to get it done in...say, a week, do you think you could?
  • You could make this table in an afternoon if you had the material.

20 minutes to cut the wood and sand.
    10 minutes to glue the underlay and then cut it to fit.
    10 minutes to staple it down tight.
    1 hour to wait for glue to dry.
    20-30 minutes to staple down the felt properly
    10 minutes to line up and attach the legs
    30 minutes to nail down the rubber railing

If you wanted to be slow and careful, you could make this in 1 day without a problem.
  • thanks for the reply djw.

And just 'cause I'm a pain...is this a complete materials list:

Materials:
    -Large sheet of plywood (thickness?)
    -Carpet underlay
    -Felt
    -Rubber Railing
    -Table legs
    -Table runners (to prevent warpage in the middle)
    -Drink holders (optional)

Equipment:
    -Buzzsaw
    -Sander
    -Staple gun
    -Glue gun
    -Hammer + Nails
    -Screws + Screwdriver

Also, where did you get your underlay?

Thanks!!! :)
  • Hahaha no problem!

Material: