Can Anyone Explain How Top Shark Ranks Are Determined??

Hello,

I have been playing poker online for about 5 years now. I do read the forum often but I'm not normally comfortable with posting. However, something happened last night that got under my skin enough for me to put aside my shyness aside and just ask.

My Top Shark MTT rank dropped from a K*** to a J*** from Monday night to Tuesday Night.

I know that may sound ridiculous but I'm po'ed. It took me about 4 years before finally getting my MTT rank on par with my SNG rank. When I finally achieved this, it boosted my confidence, and I feel my live play has benefited from this. This kinda felt like a kick in the crotch and I want to fix it.

Can anyone give me any insight as to why it dropped so much overnight?

My stats for the last 100 games are sh***y. I'm not saying I didn't deserve to have my rank lowered-just confused why it dropped so much over a period that I played about 5 games in. My current total profit is about the same as it was 25 games ago, why didn't it change then, or start slowly dropping?

This is all the information I could find on the top shark/poker pro labs website:
Q: How is the rank or rating calculated?
A: There are three parameters for the rank:
1. Number of entrants
2. Average buy-in
3. Tournament Finishes

If anyone could expand on that it would be greatly appreciated. Perhaps an explanation of how these things are weighted? How often the player rankings are updated?

Obviously winning is the best strategy. But would it help to cut out the smaller buy-ins I sometimes play? Only play large fields? Or only play small fields because there is a greater chance of winning?

If it helps with a response here is the link to my TS page:

Gottaget99

Thanks

Comments

• youre doing your math compared to yourself.....your rank slid because other players passed you..... :p
  • Thanks for the reply Darbady!

Did not realize it was ranking in comparison to other players.