Rollercoasters

Watching NATHD and they're showing a program on coasters. I went to cedar point in ohio a couple of years ago and some of the rides there were completely insane. Anyone here been to any other parks that would be worth the trip?

Comments

• Finally something I'm a moderate expert on!

As far as big insane rides, if you're staying localish to Ohio, Michigan, Ontario (I'm assuming that's localish for you), I've been to Wonderland north of T.O. and there are some seriously sweet coasters there. Haven't went on Goliath but it looked badass. The one they used to call Top Gun (not sure what it's called now that Paramount is no longer the sponsor name for the park) is friggin sweet. Best part about their coasters is you can pick your spot. If you want to ride on the front, you go to the front line. If you want the middle, you go to the middle. Etc etc.

If you're willing to travel, head to Southern California. There are roughly a dozen theme parks and all of them have a badass ride. #1 on the list should be Six Flags Magic Mountain. There are at least 6 completely awesome coasters, none more crazy than X. Youtube it or go check out the video on their website. A 200' fall straight down face down and then your seat flips over itself at the bottom. I legitimately had chest pains at the end.

Disneyland kicks ass for nostalgia's sake. Matterhorn is still sweet, Indiana Jones is fun, Splash Mountain is good times and Space Mountain never gets old.

California Adventure is absolute ass, but the coaster they have that does the loop through a Mickey Mouse symbol is lots of fun.

Knottsberry Farm was alright but I haven't been in about 15-20 years so I'm not sure what it's like now.

Universal had a couple of decent ones and have apparently gotten more good ones over the years.

Surprisingly, Legoland has an awesome ride but if you're not into Lego, the park isn't worth seeing for just the one ride.