Nikon D3100 opinions?

I'm in the market for a new camera and was wondering if anyone has this particular camera? I was looking at the Cannon T1i and the T2i but those two are sold out at Best Buy.
I want something a little more than a point and click but I'm also an amateur when it comes to anything bigger.

Comments

• Nope. Just bought the wife a Fuji Finepix HS10 for Christmas.

She bought it because of the low-light photo option. She takes a lot of pix in a theatre environment.

This is her second Fuji, and she loves the brand.
  • Haven't checked out all of them Ed. The Cannon is $899.00 I saw the commercial were they shot it with the video part on the thing.

Olympus has one too. They all look pretty good but ultimately you have to decide if you want to spend that type of money, and how much use will you get out of it.
  • HVEEPOKER wrote: »
    and how much use will you get out of it.

I am definitely the picture taker of the the immediate and extended family. I also love shooting small video clips of anywhere from 1-5 minutes. So, yeah, the camera will get a lot of use.
  • Just bought a t2i myself.
    vistek.crap

but I believe Henry's or Black's had them on sale too.

I always use Digital Cameras: Digital Photography Review, News, Reviews, Forums, FAQ before making any buy decisions. The t2i is only 8 months old and shoots full 1080p video as well.
  • moose wrote: »

The canon looks like a great camera. beats the crap out of my $150 kodak easy share for sure.
  • Have a T1 and love it.
    Just bought a t2i myself.
    vistek.crap

but I believe Henry's or Black's had them on sale too.

I always use Digital Cameras: Digital Photography Review, News, Reviews, Forums, FAQ before making any buy decisions. The t2i is only 8 months old and shoots full 1080p video as well.

Btw vistek.crap cancelled my Boxing day order. This is what I sent them.

I ordered from another retailer but I doubt they have any stock. We'll see what happens.