Cables??

Ok..I suck at this computer crap..What cables do I need, and/or, are best for going from my PC or my laptop, to my television? I have a new 42" lcd..so all the inputs are avail.

Moose, didn't you buy some cheap from somewhere in another thread?

Comments

• DennisG wrote: »
    Ok..I suck at this computer crap..What cables do I need, and/or, are best for going from my PC or my laptop, to my television? I have a new 42" lcd..so all the inputs are avail.

Moose, didn't you buy some cheap from somewhere in another thread?

HDMI are the best.

Mark
  • I use a vga cord and it works fine. I'm not a computer expert by any means though.
  • Monoprice.com for cables. Do not buy an HDMI cable from anywhere else.

Moose put me onto these guys. I think I paid about 1/6 of what it was going to cost locally.

Check and make sure what input you plan on using on the tv. If your laptop has HDMI out, your set. The TV I just got has a VGA input, so a vga cord would be fine.

Good thing you've got lcd!
  • Yeah moose knows where to find some ridiculously cheap HDMI cables
  • DVI cable if your Video card has it is what i would use.. it's usually white and if you have a short enough distance the cables are probably cheaper than HDMI
  • Good point TuFull. I surfed around the monoprice website and it actually had little pics of the ends of the cords so you could tell exactly what you needed. Good for folks that aren't overly tech savvy.
  • Hmm...ok, after looking again..apparently I need hdmi (tv) and dvi(pc)

But, what does the 22awg vs 24 awg mean? And are "tin-plated" standard or cheapout?
  • Walleye wrote: »
    I use a vga cord and it works fine. I'm not a computer expert by any means though.

i use this too but to watch movies not play poker
  • DennisG wrote: »
    Hmm...ok, after looking again..apparently I need hdmi (tv) and dvi(pc)

But, what does the 22awg vs 24 awg mean? And are "tin-plated" standard or cheapout?