Can anyone tell me if it is legal.

I guess my question is it legal to win money from online poker in Canada. I am assuming its not, but maybe someone could clear it up for me.

Comments

• Well if you have won any, it definitely is illegal. Better just send it to me and I'll take the heat for you...
  • You are to nice, I don't want to get you in trouble
  • Yes, it's legal enough; maybe it's more accurate to say it's NOT illegal.
    Unless you're winning a LOT and not reporting it on your income tax, you won't have a problem.
  • Since when do you have to report winnings in Canada?
  • GTA Poker wrote: »
    Since when do you have to report winnings in Canada?

If you make a living at poker I'd say you have to, but I'm not a tax professional. Otherwise I think you're safe.
  • Said it before, and I'll repeat it now:

If the CRA says you make your living from gambling, then you are going to have to pony up. Whether it's to a lawyer to fight it (and probably lose anyway), or just to settle the issue.

Having said that, most of us not named SirWatts will be fine . . .
  • What if you have a 'primary' job which makes u 8$ an hour but lets say you bring in 100K a year in 'gambling' money consistently..... can they still tax you on the 100K or do they just tax you on your 8$/hr job?
  • NoVeLTeK wrote: »
    What if you have a 'primary' job which makes u 8$ an hour but lets say you bring in 100K a year in 'gambling' money consistently..... can they still tax you on the 100K or do they just tax you on your 8$/hr job?

Then they neuter you because you are so stupid that you should not breed.
    What if you have a 'primary' job which makes u 8$ an hour but lets say you bring in 100K a year in 'gambling' money consistently..... can they still tax you on the 100K or do they just tax you on your 8$/hr job?