Any Day Traders out there?

with the swings in the market this week, anyone playing the bank shares, etc.? expect some further nice gains today. Its a crazy market these days. Some great opportunities to make $$$.

Comments

• pokerJAH wrote: »
    expect some further nice gains today.

I didn't expect TD to jump $7 in early trading... wow!
  • too bad the SEC has temporarily banned short selling. should be fun
    I didn't expect TD to jump $7 in early trading... wow!
    Easy enough to explain. Of all the Canadian banks, TD is the only one that did not let itself take any exposure to the US "asset backed commercials" fiasco. No exposure = no plummet.
    Its a crazy market these days. Some great opportunities to make $$$.
    Just like poker, for every big winner, there will be a big loser. I was a day trader in the late 1990s, but I luckily sold many of my family's stocks at a huge profit before the inevitable hi-tech bubble burst, when everybody I knew lost a lot of money. Since then, I have smartened up and put my nest egg in index funds and ETFs (exchange traded funds) without worrying about the crazy day-to-day variance of individual stocks.

Day trading or active trading is -EV because of the commissions. It is like playing every hand in a raked cash game, where you may win the most pots, but you will still lose because of the amount of rake that was taken out.
  • BlondeFish wrote: »
    Day trading or active trading is -EV because of the commissions.

really depends on the amount you are buying. btw, I'm hardly a day trader. Just thought there might be a few on this forum.