5NL question

I recently started playing cash game after I donked away a 300$ bankroll to 9$ (yup... let's just say I learned the HARD way about BR management...)

Anyways... I decided to start at the lowest NL possible (5NL) on stars... so far it's going great I'm up to 33$ but I have a question... it happended 3 times now where I was over 15$ on the table I was playing on... when should I leave the table ? Should I fix myself an amount to avoid entering big pot just "cuz you can afford it" ?

Most people don't buy in for max.. usually it's around 2-3 bucks top.

Thanks!

Comments

• InsaneGuy wrote: »
    Should I fix myself an amount to avoid entering big pot just "cuz you can afford it" ?
    How about simply NOT doing stuff "cuz you can afford it". Think in terms of #BB instead of the dollar amount relative to your stack. And playing against short stacks always keep implied odds in mind to avoid -EV gambles. Write yourself a post-it note and stick it on top of your screen if you need to constantly remind yourself.

/g2
  • Standard low limit bankroll management is 20-25 buy ins for what ever level you are playing at. $5 X 20 is $100 so you are under rolled for your limit.

At $5NL you are probably ok with 7 buy ins for your roll but if I were you I would leave the table anytime you double up. $10 at this point represents 30% of your roll so get it off the table and open another one.
  • cadillac wrote: »
    Standard low limit bankroll management is 20-25 buy ins for what ever level you are playing at. $5 X 20 is $100 so you are under rolled for your limit.

At $5NL you are probably ok with 7 buy ins for your roll but if I were you I would leave the table anytime you double up. $10 at this point represents 30% of your roll so get it off the table and open another one.
    even if the table is fill with action?
    I recently started playing cash game after I donked away a 300$ bankroll to 9$ (yup... let's just say I learned the HARD way about BR management...)