Ace high flush on flop split pot??

I was playing some free poker at Absolute today and something confused me, as an online newbie I was confused to begin with, so this didn't help...haha. Two players (I was out of the hand) had a flush with the Ace on the board and they split the pot. I always thought that it would go to the second card. I asked somebody in chat and they said that was the rule all the time. Is this true? I always played that it goes to the second card, that makes sense, but have I been playing wrong all this time, or did I just see it wrong? I'm sure there weren't 5 diamonds on the board, I think there were 4, each of the players having the fifth, and they split the pot. I just found it hard to believe that if the Ace is on the board a flush is split every time. Am I crazy, or just a confused amateur?

Comments

• A flush is a poker hand such as Q♣ 10♣ 7♣ 6♣ 4♣, which contains five cards of the same suit, not in rank sequence. It ranks above a straight and below a full house. Two flushes are compared as if they were high card hands. In other words, the highest ranking card of each is compared to determine the winner; if both have the same high card, then the second-highest ranking card is compared, etc. The suits have no value: two flushes with the same five ranks of cards are tied. Flushes are described by the highest card, as in "queen-high flush".

Examples:

A♥ Q♥ 10♥ 5♥ 3♥ ("ace-high flush") defeats K♠ Q♠ J♠ 9♠ 6♠ ("king-high flush")
    A♦ K♦ 7♦ 6♦ 2♦ ("flush, ace-king high") defeats A♥ Q♥ 10♥ 5♥ 3♥ ("flush, ace-queen high")
    Q♥ 10♥ 9♥ 5♥ 2♥ ("heart flush") ties Q♠ 10♠ 9♠ 5♠ 2♠ ("spade flush")
  • Yes I know all that. I've played alot of poker. This situation was...both flushes were diamonds. Four diamonds showing with the Ace and each person had a diamond in their hand. Obviously one diamond back was higher than the other guys diamond, yet they split the pot. See what I mean? Maybe I was mistaken?