Cell number portability

A friend reminded me the other day of this.
If your contract is up, don't sign another till after March 17, 2007

http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/NEWS/RELEASES/2005/r051220.htm

Comments

• Cool thanks for the info.

So Rogers blows, and my contract is up in the spring... who should I go with? For what it's worth, I'm a co-op student for another year or two, so I move a lot.

/g2
  • I'm leaning towards Telus cause I like their data plans
  • I switched my company from Rogers to Telus, approx 25 devices and am saving $1200 a month...and users have noticed that they are getting reception in areas they would normally drop with Rogers. You're right Hobbes, rogers blows, hard! I hear Bell has horrible coverage but honestly I think the big 3 are almost identical in coverage but with the Telus 'pooling' plans you can save a ton!
  • Ok now this is when you know you got too "into your job".

After 7 years at a telecommunications device maker I learned a lot more then I ever wanted to about Cell Phones and Cell phone technology.

When switching consider what is the most important to you... do you want a phone to last for ever on one charge, or do you want to be able to call people from the basement of a parking garage?

If you want innner city coverage, in and out and through buildings go with either a CDMA, or iDEN device (Bell Mobility and Telus) but you sacrifice battery time because of these technologies.

If you want long lasting battery and are willing to for go (or is it fore go) inner building reception etc. Then get a GPRS device (Rogers is the main one).