Bad advice

From reading on this forum I've noticed that the general consensus is NOT to move up a level until you are beating the one you are at.

I've had a strange experience recently that contradicts this ...wonder if maybe its time to challenge the 'universal truth' above.

I started playing on a new site at the $22 sng ..and did very well. I was stepping down from $55 on my prev. site to get my "sea legs" on the new one-I think its fair to say I'm a competent player capable of results at that level.

A few weeks later I began playing a $5 sng against a friend every night, for fun...and- I've lost so many games at that level I received the distinct honour of being told I'm on 'Super-tilt' by sharkscope and lost my little shark-lol. I sincerely CAN NOT beat the $5 game..and trying to has almost become a sickness with me.

I've played LAG, I've played TAG, I've tried bribing the dealer..If I could figure out a way to show cleavage online; I would (meaning: I'm really bringing my A game)..and in the end some guy with k-7o sends me packing when he calls all in and hits a runner-runner miracle.

So, I'm wondering if anyone else would agree that not moving up a buy in or two only applies when you're at a level where you are playing opponents who generally apply some form of strategy to the game, and you have invested the time and studied to the point where you consider yourself a reasonable player with a grasp of the game?

I'm not convinced that failing a luckfest means that you are not a good player..and that the advice given to those players struggling at the low buy ins is good.

Interested to hear your thoughts.

Comments