Online Deck More Truly Random?

I've had this thought in my mind, and been reading some reviews of sites on FlopTurnRiver, and lots of people complaining about the game being fixed, made me bring this up.

Now, I am a developer by trade, and fully understand how random number generation works. Is it possible that the online games are much more random then the B&M games, home tournies, etc?

In a real deck, when pocket aces are tossed into the deck, what are the chances those aces will get spread out evenly during the shuffle? Or a flush set of cards? While with a random number generator, there are none of these possible human element issues that come up. Any card at any time can come up, and random cards aren't ever "grouped" together.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Now, I am a developer by trade, and fully understand how random number generation works.   Is it possible that the online games are much more random then the B&M games, home tournies, etc?

Not just possible, pretty much certain. There have been studies of how much shuffling you have to do to properly randomize a deck of cards, and my vague recollection is that it's on the order of 30 seconds or more using various techniques. Very few hand shuffles last that long, IME, and don't generally involve a proper mix of techniques. OTOH, the better autoshufflers apparently do a pretty good job.
  • Apart from the possible things that can go wrong online, including

1. site corruption,
    2. programming errors,
    3. site hackability, or
    4. lack of (or anticipatable) pseudo-random number seed or entropy source,

I'd say that the statistical nature of the shuffle at an online poker site would be far superior to any human version of shuffling cards.

I'm not sure that I would characterize either shuffle as "more random" than the other, although I think I know what you're getting at (in terms of card clumping, non-thorough shuffling, etc).