slightly depressed about the world tonight

I am sitting here, trying to organize my thoughts and I am just not getting anywhere. My better half and I had a chat tonight and she wanted to know why I am not myself - I think I am distant or something.

I had an AWESOME vacation in Europe and I am setting up what looks to be a great poker summit, but I am still missing something in life. My employment situation is the source of my anxiety tonight. I would have to write a few hundred pages to describe how I got here (at this point in life) but really, the situation can be summed up in a few lines. I really, really want to do something I love for a living. I had a job I did well and liked doing for 4 years and I left it for various reasons in Oct of 2004. I have not found anything really fulfilling since.

I have had many ideas, most of them crap, a few brilliant, but nothing has panned out yet (so much for entrapeneurial life being easy). I still have some things I wish to try, I think some of them might be successful but I just find my level of optimism is fading.

Maybe I need to sleep on it.

Just a mini rant/vent to clear my head. Somehow, I figure someone here might know what this phase of the life cycle feels like and I suppose that will ease the feeling a little. If not, I can use this post to look back when things are great to ground myself and find a little reminder of the not so exciting times.

Forgive the ramble

Comments

• I know the feeling....anxiety that is...I just can't quite put my finger on the source. I know a chunk stems from selling the store which has been a big part of my life for 3 years now, another chunk of course is coming from my dayjob and the changes there. If possible, I recommend going into business for yourself, it's a great feeling.