How to handle blind vs. blind

Hi, I'm fairly new to the game and a situation pops up all the time in NLHE and I'm never sure what is the correct play.

The situation is when the entire table folds to me and I am in the small blind. How often should I be folding here? Playing out of position in this scenario is obviously not good, but giving up my small blind for free without some fight somehow seems innately wrong to me as well.

Should I be changing my range of playable hands in this situation? Or raising more hoping to steal his big blind? What are people's typical strategies in handling the blind battle and how should stack size dictate how I handle the big blind?? Thanks!!

Comments

• I am assuming this is online? I guess it depends a lot on the type of player in the big blind. Is he solid? Tight? Loose? Calling station? Folds too much to raises?

Generally speaking though I like to raise a lot more hands so I can end the hand early since I am out of position (unless the player is weak and doesn't know how to fully utilize position). Once in a while I will also just limp with some marginal hands and fold trash hands just so it doesn't look like I am raising every single hand (this is maybe once or twice a session; it really doesn't take much).
  • All depends on your cards, read and stacks. Early you can just fold with junk cards, but later in a tournament fire away if you think you can get away with a bluff.

And don't be surprised when you run into a monster.
  • Quinner wrote: »
    Hi, I'm fairly new to the game and a situation pops up all the time in NLHE and I'm never sure what is the correct play.

The situation is when the entire table folds to me and I am in the small blind. How often should I be folding here? Playing out of position in this scenario is obviously not good, but giving up my small blind for free without some fight somehow seems innately wrong to me as well.