making money

whats the best way to make money. tourneys, sit and gos or ring games. or doesit all depend on what kind of player u are. is one better then the other.

Comments

• I used to play cash games. They can be very profitable, but they are mentally exhausting/boring...

The biggest scores are obviously in mtt's. I find these huge tournaments to be very exciting to play in. A month ago I decided to stop grinding and focus on tournament play. When there aren't any NL tournaments running, I play NL sng's. These are great practise for mtt's and can also be very profitable.

I just started playing mtt's last week and I've had two great finishes. A 64th out of 1760 and a 7th out of 1020. Both of these with rebuys. The last cash basically doubled the roll I built griding away for months in cash games. I think that says enough.

I guess it all depends on personal preference, but for me, I want to enjoy myself as well as make money. There is no question mtt's are where my money will be going in the future.
  • Personally, I've made almost the exact same amount from tourneys and from ring games. The problem that many players encounter with tournaments (including me) is that you can go for a long period of time without any 'significant' cashes. If you're just barely making it into the money spots, or not making it into the money spots at all, for a long period of time, the entry fees will eat away at your bankroll and there are no guarantees of a big payday around the corner.

That being said, even one 'top three' finish in a relatively big tournament can pay for all of your previous entry fees, and then some.