Are poker winnings taxable?

Hi guys,

New to the forum. I started playing online about 6 mths ago. My initial $500 bankroll slowly shrank until I got down to about $50. Although it was not a good time for me I did learn a lot from all that losing. Since then I have turned things around. After a period of breaking even, I started to slowly win some money! Over the last few months things have definately changed for the better. I now win pretty consistently. Playing 2/4 limit and $5/10 NL tourneys, I am now making some $$$. I have gotten my bankroll up to $2000 over the last two months. My question is this; If you win consistently at online poker, do you have to declare the winnings as income with Revenue Canada? I am making two to three hundred bucks a week as of late. Should I be worrying about the taxman?

Comments

• !@$^(%%) the taxman. TIf online poker is not your primary source of income I wouldn't worry about it.
  • Try a forum search for the word "tax" and you should find some useful threads.

ScottyZ
  • I did read somewhere that its only taxable if its your main income. As long as you have another job that pays more you're fine.
  • they won't come after ya :D if you're making $500 a year, they aren't going to notice. plus. i think their isn't tax for winnings in canada..thoughts?
  • stoneskn wrote:
    they won't come after ya :D if you're making $500 a year, they aren't going to notice. plus. i think their isn't tax for winnings in canada..thoughts?

there isn't. Unless you're silly enough to write "online poker player" as your profession. As of now, there are no 'off the top' taxes on any winnings in Canada. If you win $10,000,000 on lotto 6/49 the entire cheque goes into your account.
  • If you win $10,000,000 on lotto 6/49 the entire cheque goes into your account.

True, since you are talking about lottery in this particular example, rather than another form of gambling.