7 Stud HI/LO

Ive always heard how big names in poker usually started out playing 5 card draw or stud and then moved on to holdem. I started playing home games like cowboy, holdem and omaha but never ventured much into the the 7 stud world...
I tried it on party the other day and was having a blast, I really enjoyed playing the HI/LO tables and now I want to get some books on some good stratedgy for stud. It was't tough to pick up the general concept of how it supposed to be played but it would be really interesting to read a book from a pro and see what their view on the game would be.
Im glad that I've ventured into this new territory!

ps..anyone know any good 7 stud hi/lo books?

Comments

• Ray Zee's High Low Split Poker is an excellent book and a must read if you are getting into Stud 8. The first half is on Stud 8 and the 2nd half is Omaha 8. Check out as well the stud forum at twoplustwo and www.studstrategy.com. That 2nd site has some good basic info although a few of their points are suspect... I don't remember which, but I just remember it's not all something that everyone agrees on (there was a thread on twoplustwo that dealt with it, but overall the advice there is pretty decent).

I've read the old SuperSystem section on Stud Hi/Low, which isn't exactly the same as playing with the 8 or better qualifier, but it's reasonable if you adjust for the differences. The new edition of Supersystem is supposed to have a Stud 8 chapter, which I can't wait to read.

There is an article by Lou Krieger on Stud 8 starting hands in the archives at cardplayer.com as well. There really doesn't seem to be that much printed on Stud 8 strategy, at least that I've been able to find, so if you find anything else please let me know.
  • WASSSSSUPPPPPPPPPP