Let's talk RAZZ!

So dabbled into this game today, thinking of learning this as well as omaha, anyone here a expert?

I was doing o.k. the last table I was on, but then it started turning bad. So down in RAZZ and still a lil up in Omaha.

I am more in the dark about razz then omaha, not sure when I should be betting or reraising, I know you have to go for the lowest hand.

Comments

• Played a live HORSE tourney yesterday. Got dealt rolled up KKK ... in Razz, of course. I folded after bringing in (obv), and the dealer showed me the burn cards; would have been dealt the case on 5th street. Of course, I started with 3 cards to a 6 every hand of 7CS-high - or at least so it seemed.

I'm far from an expert, but I find Razz to be the easiest of the HORSE games. Perhaps it's because the average hold'em type player is particularly weak at it, but also because the mathematics are the simplest. Everyone is drawing to the same hand (don't have to be concerned with pairs/trips AND straights AND flushes), and you can tell what's the best hand your opponent could have. It's always fun when your opponent is betting into you while board-locked; e.g. can at best make an 8-7 and you're sitting with a made 7 or better 8.

7CS-high is much tougher to play well, imo. For example, in a live $2/$4 HORSE cash game on Saturday night, an opponent took a huge pot off me when I made a K-high flush in 7CS-high and he showed 6's full. I had no idea why he was raising me on the river because his board wasn't even paired. Apparently he had 66 in the hole, made trips on 4th, and rivered the boat. So sick.
  • Not a good day in anything!

I hear ya inano, got all high cards in razz, all low cards in Omaha:bs:

usual can't win a race in hold em.

It was a royal cup kinda day;)
  • Stop humming . . . :D
  • hmmmmmmmmmm what to play:D

doing 7 card stud as well, can't make money in these can you, always paying a ante........