Hands/Hour & BB/Hour

I just started playing limit ring games recently (I used to stick only to tournaments) and I have a couple questions.

First, does anyone know on average approximately how many hands/hour you can get on an online ring game (10 players)? I keep track of minutes played, not hands played, and would like to know approximately how many hands I have played before I decide whether to move up a level.

Secondly, what is a good win rate (BB/Hour) for a good player at low limits ($0.25/$0.50). So far I've played 1000 minutes (16.7 hours) and have a BB/Hour rate of 5.33 ($2.66/Hour). Is this a 'normal' rate for a good player, or am I just on a really lucky streak?

Thanks!

Comments

• First, does anyone know on average approximately how many hands/hour you can get on an online ring game (10 players)?

It varies a lot depending on the site and your opponents, but generally speaking, around 60-80 hands/hour is typical.
    Secondly, what is a good win rate (BB/Hour) for a good player at low limits ($0.25/$0.50).

Due to exceptionally low opponent skill levels at these limits, your "good player win rates" are probably going to be much higher than usual.

Is the game raked? If it is raked, I would guess that you could pull in around 2-5 Big Bets per hour as a rough win rate. In an unraked game, probably this moves up by 1-2 more Big Bets/hr.
    So far I've played 1000 minutes (16.7 hours) and have a BB/Hour rate of 5.33 ($2.66/Hour). Is this a 'normal' rate for a good player, or am I just on a really lucky streak?

Neither of these could be concluded from the data I think. The long run is *very* long. I'd guess that you need well over 100 hours (probably more like over 500) until you can start saying with reasonable certainty that "my hourly win rate is about X".